Hong Kong News

Nonpartisan, Noncommercial, unconstrained.
Thursday, Jan 20, 2022

Three district councilors set to be unseated for refusing to swear allegiance oath

Three district councillors including Daniel Kwok Tsz-kin are expected to be unseated as they have refused to take an oath to pledge allegiance to the SAR government.
District councillors from New Territories West will have to attend an oath-taking ceremony tomorrow (Friday) at North Point Community Hall.

This includes members of the Tsuen Wan District Council, the Tuen Mun District Council, the Yuen Long District Council, the Kwai Tsing District Council and the Islands District Council.

Kwok from Kwai Tsing confirmed that he will not attend the ceremony on social media on Thursday. He said that he represents the public opinion and therefore should not recite the oath because of government suppression. He also said he will not quit.

Earlier, Gary Poon Chi-kin and Wong Tak-yuen from Tuen Mun confirmed they will not attend the ceremony as well. So far, a total of three district councillors from the pro-democracy camp have said they will refuse to show up for tomorrow's ceremony.

According to earlier examples, district councillors who are absent at the ceremony will be unseated immediately.

In the first three oath-taking ceremonies, a total of 17 district councillors from Kowloon and Hong Kong Island saw their oath determined as invalid by Secretary for Home Affairs Caspar Tsui Ying-wai.

Another 16 district councillors from New Territories East were asked for additional information to determine the validity of their oath. Authorities have yet to confirm whether they will be unseated.

Related Articles

Hong Kong News