Hong Kong News

Nonpartisan, Noncommercial, unconstrained.
Sunday, Dec 05, 2021

Ten district councilors see oaths not yet approved by govt

Ten district councilors see oaths not yet approved by govt

Ten district councilors from Kowloon saw their oaths taken today not yet determined as valid by the government, while Leos Lee Man-ho lost his seat after he was absent at the ceremony.
The ten councilors are Wu Sui-shan, James To Kun-sun, Tsang Tsz-ming and Chu Kong-wai from Yau Tsim Mong District Council; Lau Wai-chung from Sham Shui Po District Council; Tsang Kin-chiu, Kwok Tin-lap and Pius Yum Kwok-tung from Kowloon City District Council; Sean Mock Ho-chit from Wong Tai Sin District Council and Edith Leung Yik-ting from Kwun Tong District Council.

Government said the oath administrator had doubts on the validity of the oaths taken by them. The administrator has sent letters to them asking for additional information to decide the validity of their oaths, the government added.

A total of 56 councilors, including 27 Democrats, took their oaths one-by-one at the North Point Community Hall this morning.

Leos Lee earlier said he will not attend the oath-taking ceremony.

James To, one of the 47 pro-democracy figures charged over the Legco primaries and released on bail, attended the ceremony. Yet he didn't make any comment on the matter when leaving.

Last week, the government rejected the pledges made by seven Hong Kong Island district councilors and disqualified them from office. Another member was ousted after deciding not to take the oath.

Related Articles

Hong Kong News