Hong Kong News

Nonpartisan, Noncommercial, unconstrained.
Thursday, Aug 11, 2022

John Lee's cabinet approved by Beijing

John Lee's cabinet approved by Beijing

Incoming Chief Executive John Lee Ka-chiu's cabinet nomination was approved by the central government on Sunday. Lee expressed gratitude to the central government for accepting and approving the 26 nominations made by him. He also thanked for its trust in and support for him and his governing team.

The 21 Principal Officials appointed under the political appointment system are on non-civil service terms:

Secretaries of Departments

Chief Secretary for Administration, Chan Kwok-ki
Financial Secretary, Paul Chan Mo-po
Secretary for Justice, Paul Lam Ting-kwok

Deputy Secretaries of Departments

Deputy Chief Secretary for Administration, Cheuk Wing-hing
Deputy Financial Secretary, Michael Wong Wai-lun
Deputy Secretary for Justice, Cheung Kwok-kwan

Directors of Bureaux

Secretary for Culture, Sports and Tourism, Kevin Yeung Yun-hung
Secretary for Constitutional and Mainland Affairs, Erick Tsang Kwok-wai
Secretary for Financial Services and the Treasury, Christopher Hui Ching-yu
Secretary for Security, Tang Ping-keung
Secretary for Environment and Ecology, Tse Chin-wan
Secretary for Commerce and Economic Development, Algernon Yau Ying-wah
Secretary for Health, Lo Chung-mau
Secretary for Transport and Logistics, Lam Sai-hung
Secretary for Development, Bernadette Linn Hon-ho
Secretary for Housing, Winnie Ho Wing-yin
Secretary for the Civil Service, Ingrid Yeung Ho Poi-yan
Secretary for Education, Choi Yuk-lin
Secretary for Innovation, Technology and Industry, Sun Dong
Secretary for Home and Youth Affairs, Alice Mak Mei-kuen
Secretary for Labour and Welfare, Chris Sun Yuk-han

Five Principal Officials heading the disciplined services were also appointed today. They are the Commissioner of Police, Siu Chak-yee; the Commissioner, Independent Commission Against Corruption, Woo Ying-ming; the Director of Audit, Nelson Lam; the Director of Immigration, Au Ka-wang; and the Commissioner of Customs and Excise, Louise Ho.

In addition, Lee announced the appointment of Carol Yip as the Director of the Chief Executive's Office.


Related Articles

Hong Kong News