Hong Kong News

Nonpartisan, Noncommercial, unconstrained.
Sunday, Jul 03, 2022

John Lee’s cabinet begins to take shape

John Lee’s cabinet begins to take shape

Hong Kong’s next government under John Lee Ka-chiu as chief executive is taking on a more concrete shape, according to a preliminary list of cabinet posts obtained by The Standard.
This came as the restructuring proposal to expand the cabinet to 15 bureaus and add three new deputies - to the chief secretary, financial secretary, and justice secretary - was passed yesterday by the Legislative Council. It is understood that Lee will announce his cabinet in the next several days.

Two of the three top spots - the chief secretary and justice secretary - will be filled by the director of the Chief Executive’s Office, Eric Chan Kwok-ki, and former Bar Association chair Paul Lam Ting-kwok respectively, while incumbent financial secretary Paul Chan Mo-po is expected to stay in Lee’s cabinet.

Meanwhile, the three new deputies to the chief secretary, financial secretary, and justice secretary will be former permanent secretary for innovation and technology Cheuk Wing-hing, secretary for development Michael Wong Wai-lun, and DAB lawmaker Horace Cheung Kwok Kwan.

As for the 15 bureaus, sources said Lo Chung-mau, chief executive of The University of Hong Kong-Shenzhen Hospital, is highly likely to replace Secretary for Food and Health Sophia Chan Siu-chee as the city’s health minister, with the Food and Health Bureau being revamped as Health Bureau focusing on medical policies.

Two policy bureaus will be headed by incumbent lawmakers, with Election Committee lawmaker Sun Dong leading the Innovation, Technology and Industry Bureau and Alice Mak Mei-kuen from the Hong Kong Federation of Trade Unions taking over the post of Secretary for Home and Youth Affairs.

The remaining 12 bureaus will see Permanent Secretary for Development Bernadette Linn Hon-ho stepping up as Secretary for Development, Permanent Secretary for the Civil Service Ingrid Yeung Ho Poi-yan stepping up as Secretary for the Civil Service, Under Secretary for Education Choi Yuk-lin stepping up as Secretary for Education, as well as Under Secretary for Environment Bureau Tse Chin-wan stepping up as head of the new Environment and Ecology Bureau.

Director of Architectural Services Winnie Ho Wing-yin is tipped to join the new government cabinet as the city’s housing secretary, while former Permanent Secretary for Development Lam Sai-hung will be named head of the Transport and Logistics Bureau.

Greater Bay Airlines' Chief Executive Officer Algernon Yau Ying-wah is tipped to lead the Commerce and Economic Development Bureau. And the Commissioner for Labour Chris Sun Yuk-han is going to be the Secretary for Labour and Welfare.

Incumbent education chief Kevin Yeung Yun-hung will be named head of the new Culture, Sports and Tourism Bureau, while security chief Chris Tang Ping-keung, constitutional and mainland affairs chief Erick Tsang Kwok-wai, and financial services chief Christopher Hui Ching-yu will all stay in the new administration.

Separately, Executive Council member and lawmaker Regina Ip Lau Suk-yee is most likely to be the next Exco convener, while the member spots left behind by Ip and outgoing Wong Kwok-kin of the Hong Kong Federation of Trade Unions are most likely to be filled by DAB chairperson Starry Lee Wai-king and lawmaker Ng Chau-pei.

Related Articles

Hong Kong News