Hong Kong News

Nonpartisan, Noncommercial, unconstrained.
Tuesday, Oct 04, 2022

Eighteen candidates from DAB to contest Legco elections

The city's biggest pro-Beijing party, Democratic Alliance for the Betterment and Progress of Hong Kong, announced today it will be fielding 18 candidates in the coming Legco elections.
Speaking at a press briefing, party chairwoman Starry Lee Wai-king, said 10 members will be vying for seats in the geographical constituencies, four in the functional constituencies, and four will attempt to secure seats chosen by the Election Committee.

Meanwhile, incumbent DAB lawmakers Ann Chiang Lai-wan, Wong Ting-Kwong, Wilson Or Chong-shing and Leung Che-cheung will not seek re-election.

Among the 10 members each running for a seat in their respective geographical constituencies, three of them were Legco election debutants, including Edward Leung Hei, Stanley Li Sai-wing, and Chan Hok-fung.

Lee said Beijing has not chosen the party's candidates, and the DAB came up with its list after internal negotiations.

She dismissed suggestions that there will be limited competition in the polls, now the electoral system has been changed to ensure only patriots hold public office.

“Within patriots we have different ideas, we have different policy advocacies. There’s still very keen competition, you can see and you can feel that, right? There are a lot of reports in different media saying in certain districts there are three or even four candidates,” she said.

DAB candidates to run in the geographical constituencies:
Edward Leung Hei - Hong Kong Island East
Chan Hok-fung - Hong Kong Island West
Starry Lee Wai-king - Kowloon Central
Vincent Cheng Wing-shun - Kowloon West
Frankie Ngan Man-yu - Kowloon East
Lau Kwok-fan - New Territories North
Holden Chow Ho-ding - New Territories North West
Ben Chan Han-pan - New Territories South West
Gary Chan Hak-kan - New Territories North East
Stanley Li Sai-wing - New Territories South East

DAB candidates to run in the functional constituencies:
Steven Ho Chun-yin - Agriculture and fisheries
Kennedy Wong Ying-ho - Import and export
Chu Lai-ling - Social welfare

DAB candidates to run in the Election Committee sector:
Nixie Lam Lam
Joseph Chan Hoi-wing
Horace Cheung Kwok-kwan
Elizabeth Quat Pui-fan

Related Articles

Hong Kong News