Hong Kong News

Nonpartisan, Noncommercial, unconstrained.
Thursday, Dec 08, 2022

Candidate Eligibility Review Committee members appointed

Candidate Eligibility Review Committee members appointed

Chief Secretary for Administration Eric Chan Kwok-ki was appointed as the Chairperson of the Candidate Eligibility Review Committee on Monday.
The government announced Chief Executive John Lee Ka-chiu's appointment of members of the CERC commencing on September 19. As the above appointment takes effect, Paul Chan Mo-po, Financial Secretary, ceases to be the Chairperson of the CERC.

The official members of the CERC included Secretary for Constitutional and Mainland Affairs Erick Tsang Kwok-wai; Secretary for Security Tang Ping-keung; and Secretary for Home and Youth Affairs Alice Mak Mei-kuen.

The non-official members are Elsie Leung Oi-sie; Rita Fan Hsu Lai-tai and Lawrence Lau Juen-yee.

CERC is responsible for assessing and validating the eligibility of candidates in the Election Committee, CE and Legislative Council elections.

Pursuant to the assessment made by the National Security Department of the police, the Committee for Safeguarding National Security of the HKSAR will decide whether a candidate complies with the legal requirements and conditions for upholding the Basic Law and bearing allegiance to the HKSAR, and issue an opinion to the CERC for those who do not comply with the legal requirements and conditions.

Related Articles

Hong Kong News